Requirements of Motorists under ND State Law
Everyone has an opinion about insurance. Some people
believe it is a conspiracy to con hardworking people out
of money. You can not imagine how much you need insurance
until you something happens that you were not prepared
Weather its a car accident, a flu, a fire,or a theft
these things happen all the time. You never know if or
when something might happen to you. Don't be caught off
guard by life's unpredictable events.
There are certain "requirements" that are applicable
to each state and varies accordingly. We have attempted
to compile all of the relevant information in to this
single resource to help visitors know what is expected
of them in regards to insurance.
Jump to North Dakota Law Section:
Auto · Health
· Life · Homeowners · Renters
Jump to More Info on:
Insurance · Health
Insurance · Life Insurance ·
Homeowners Insurance · Renters Insurance
Dakota Car Insurance Requirements
Coverage Minimum - 25/50/25
Coverage Explanation - Car insurance
coverage in North Dakota must provide a minimum of $25,000
for injury liability for one person in an accident, $50,000
for all injuries in an accident, and $25,000 for property
damage in an accident.
Read our review on Lowering your
Get FREE Insurance Quotes Now
Important North Dakota
Auto Insurance Laws!
1. ND state law requires that all motor vehicles registered
and operated in the state carry certain minimum insurance
2. Motorists are required to carry all of the types of
insurance notes in the "Important to Note" section
Important to Note:
Bodily Injury Liability: Bodily injury liability provides
coverage for claims brought against you for bodily injury
caused to another person through the operation of your
Property Damage Liability: Property damage liability
provides coverage for claims brought against you for damage
caused to someone else's property through the operation
of your vehicle.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person/ $50,000
per accident. Uninsured motorist provides you coverage
for a bodily injury claim you would have against another
driver who does not have insurance. This coverage does
not pay for physical damage to your vehicle.
Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Underinsured motorist
coverage must be equal to the uninsured motorist coverage.
Underinsured motorist provides you coverage for a bodily
injury claim you would have against another driver whose
liability coverage is less than your underinsured coverage.
Basic No-Fault: $30,000 per person. Basic no-fault provides
you coverage for economic loss (such as medical expenses
and work loss) as a result of an accidental injury in
your auto - without regard to fault. No-fault is also
known as Personal Injury Protection or PIP.
Under North Dakota auto insurance law, driving without
liability insurance is a class B misdemeanor and is punishable
by a mandatory fine of at least $150. Additionally, if
you are involved in any accident, the state will assess
14 points against your drivers license, resulting in a
suspension of your license.
our review on Lowering your Auto
Get FREE Insurance Quotes Now
Other Related Reviews: